Rigging Legs in Maya

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 19.09.43

So for this tutorial I had to Rig a balls leg and by doing that I had to click on skeleton then Create joint.

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 19.18.50

After make the joint I then opened the outline tool, this way its easier to pick on the parts of the joint you want and It’s also useful if you wanted to make the joint rigging more ease to use for animators.

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 19.40.56

The next thing I then had to do was to add an IK handle to parts of the legs and in the IK handle there are only two option that I had which were IK single chain and IK plane. They both do deferent things. The IK plane just give a twist value on the joint this way it’s easier for animators to twist left and right.

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 19.49.25

I then had to use the IK handle connecting different parts of the leg together, make sub pivots. This way it would be easier to animate.

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 19.59.01Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 20.01.04Another tool I ended up using was the curve tools. The Curve tools used to control parts of the joints this way it’s to animate with. The two circles in green are the curve tools.

With this, I learnt how to use the outline

and I also learnt how to make a rig skeleton.

Here is a video of my complete work

One thought on “Rigging Legs in Maya

Leave a Reply

